Picture
So yes, every once in awhile a girls' night out warrants dipping into your hard earned money (breakups, birthdays, etc.) but what about the rest of the year when you want to look good, feel good, and treat yourself? In this article, I'm going to discuss cheapie shortcuts in beauty and pampering and how to never let your budget sacrifice how you look and feel. These are the major places in which you are throwing away your money and cheap alternatives

1. The Hair Salon. Yes, the hairdresser makes you feel good by small talking about your cat for an hour and they do put that stuff in your hair that makes your hair smell like coconut and shine like moonlight on the ocean…but do you really need to drop $50+ on a haircut? Let's be honest half the time you're getting a trim anyhow. Let me be clear - if you are changing your hairstyle completely, perhaps it is reasonable to splurge for the salon, but if you are just getting a trim/adding layers (which most of us do 80% of the time) there is absolutely no reason to break the bank. Especially when you can get the same haircut at places like SuperCut and Great Clips for a fraction of the price. Often, those places offer coupons as well so be sure to look up an offers they may have online before you arrive in-store. Another way you break the bank is hair coloring, especially when boxed color is often under $10. Now, highlighting your hair is a different story, but dying your hair at-home is a surprisingly simple process that can save you around $50. I've been dying my hair since I was 15 years old and every time people ask me where I get my hair colored. If you are nervous, recruit the help of a friend to apply the dye, that way you ensure that it is evenly distributed in your hair. 

2. The Nail Salon. Even if you are just getting a paint, nail salon expenses are unnecessary and add up.  According to my research (thank you, Google) if you do two coats of polish there are roughly 50 manicures in any given full size bottle. Be sure to add top and base coat to get the most out of your manicure. In fact, most nail salons dilute the polish so although it may look great, it will not last as long as your at-home paint job. 

3. Makeup/Hair Products/Skin Products. I know for a fact that I have at least 30 bottles, vials, packets of full beauty products that have been used once and are long forgotten. Thats 30 bottles of wasted money! If you are thinking about using a new product, I highly recommend emailing the company first a requesting a sample, you'd be shocked at the amount of companies that are willing to ship out samples! In your email, state that you have heard the buzz around their product and was wondering if you could try it out before purchasing the full product (remember, if they respond with a no, that is perfectly OK - there is no obligation for them to give you free stuff). Include the problems you have with your hair/skin/makeup - sometimes companies send samples catered to your needs! I'll add another list of companies that I have contacted that have sent me tester products later. Another fact of life is that us women are hoarders about our beauty supply, why we feel the need to constantly purchase shampoos, lotions, cleansers, eyeliners is beyond me, but for some reason I can't walk past a tube of chapstick without throwing it into my shopping cart. I recommend taking an inventory of what you have and not purchasing more of that product until you run through a full bottle. Those 5 bottles of lotion you have? Break 'em out and put em to use before you think about stepping foot in a Bath & Body Works anytime soon. 

4. Spa Days. Beauty schools often offer spa services at slashed prices so their students can try out their skills on actual people. Win win situation! Manicures for under $5, hair styling for under $10, the list goes on and on. Make an appointment in advance and indulge without the hit on your wallet. I was shocked when I had to pay to get my hair done and the bill came out to around $70, I now always make appointments with local beauty schools and the most I have paid has been $20. I also highly recommend home remedies and treatments. Most are more effective and can cost you pennies! Here's some DIY websites to get you started. (:
http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/39/3a/4f/393a4fdb7d149352345e7b71ff6d1ff9.jpg
http://mylifeandkids.com/recipes-to-create-a-spa-at-home-pintastic-pins-of-the-week/
http://msquinnface.com/2013/01/how-to-have-at-home-spa-dayon-budget/
http://www.thedatingdivas.com/you-me/lookin-good-for-your-spouse/25-relaxing-diy-spa-night-ideas/

1/6/2015 03:29:56 pm

Very informative article you shared here. You discussed every point of beauty i.e. The Hair Salon, The Nail Salon,Makeup/Hair Products/Skin Products. Keep posting such informative blogs

Reply



Leave a Reply.